Positive Chaos

Reflection August 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — positivechaos @ 10:00 pm

When we first moved to Lyons i was 8months prego with Noah. We were very excited about our new home. Within a few days of living in our new home we felt so blessed we had the nicest neighbors.
Over the years it just became more and more obvious that this was a great place to live. Our neighbors had become like family. However, there was one aspect that was always festering in me and i hated it. Lyons has a crazy history and therefore has a not so great reputation. It has changed SO much in the last few years but you know how people can be they always look and dwell on the THEN rather then the NOW.
I started to feel i was hearing more negative things then positive esecially when it came to the schools. Mainly the High school but that just made me laugh….have A LOT of years to worry about that, at that time i was just prego with Noah, my first.
I let it go and figured i see for myself.

I was determined to get involed int he school right away last year when Noah was started kindergarten and that i did. Within a few weeks to months i was so IMPRESSED with he school. The principal is AMAZING, Noahs teacher was AMAZING,the cirriculum and teaching is excellent and i quickly learned that the entire staff from teachers, admin, nurse etc are all FABULOUS . I was thrilled.
By the end of last year i was nominated for PTO president and wells and means. I was shocked and honored. I declined PTO president as i felt i did not know enough yet but accepted well and means. I LOVE it, it is a dream come true and i feel so blessed that i am able to stay home with my children and volunteer my time to their schools and be so involved in their life.

On the first day of school the PTO hosted a coffee social for parents in the Gym SO that meant that we were in the school the entire two hours that school was in session on the first day and we were able to attend the first day of school assembly.
Some might not understand why i was so excited about this, but for me it was an honor. It was so awesome for me to see the teachers and admin staff having so much fun with the kids and for the kids.
Some schools would not even allow their teachers to be FUN and goofy.

Costello school is filled with teachers who are nothing but passionate and caring, they are THERE for the KIDS not the a HUGE paycheck.
I learned from that some people really just like to YAP facts even though they are NOT facts and they have NO idea what they are talking about. Also that not everyone will have the same experience and sometimes there is a reason that someones experience with a school or what have you is because of something isolated either with them personally or someone close to them BUT personal experiences CAN NOT be used to compare the school or district as a WHOLE. I pray each night that people will realize that and learn to close their mouths. I am a former teacher, it does not make me know it all but it does make me aware and to have sort of high expectations for my children’s education and experience.
Costello school has meet those expectations 10 fold!!
So hats of to all the teachers at Costello school in Lyons, IL……you all ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!